What produce/ingredients did you buy or obtain today (2025)?

Some vegan white chocolate drops.

IMG_2965.jpeg
 
Just a curious question. White chocolate is cacao butter - extracted from the cacao bean (no butter involved). So if white chocolate is made from a fruit, what makes it vegan?
White chocolate usually have milk powder solids added as well. It's often only 25-30% cocoa butter

Just pick any common brand...

Screenshot_20250131_070846_Chrome.jpg


That's why it isn't vegan by default.
 
Just a curious question. White chocolate is cacao butter - extracted from the cacao bean (no butter involved). So if white chocolate is made from a fruit, what makes it vegan?
And it's dairy butter that's the problem. Coconut butter, cacao butter, cocoa butter don't contain butter. They just use the word butter in the same way vegan nuggets or vegan sausages use the words nuggets or sausages but oddly the food industry doesn't complain about that and demand they are renamed. Double standards for sure.
 
And it's dairy butter that's the problem. Coconut butter, cacao butter, cocoa butter don't contain butter. They just use the word butter in the same way vegan nuggets or vegan sausages use the words nuggets or sausages but oddly the food industry doesn't complain about that and demand they are renamed. Double standards for sure.
I'm confused
I'll sleep on it. All will be clearer in the morning
 
I'm confused
I'll sleep on it. All will be clearer in the morning
There is a movement to stop vegan cheese being called cheese, vegan sausages being called sausages and so on. It's the best and dairy industry at the heart of it.

What they're not doing is trying to stop coconut butter, cacao or cocoa butter renamed though. They've been established for a long time as those names. Just targeting anything aimed at vegans and not demanding the name changes at every level. Just targeting one unpopular sector of the market and leaving the others alone. Hence double standards.
 
Just a curious question. White chocolate is cacao butter - extracted from the cacao bean (no butter involved). So if white chocolate is made from a fruit, what makes it vegan?
Everything SatNav said above 👍
I would like to try a white hot chocolate and it's impossible to find any that are readily available and dairy free.
I find the two teaspoons of cocoa I currently use a bit too enlivening before bedtime and hot chocolate to me isn't really a morning drink so what does that leave? Carob and white chocolate 👍

The usual supermarket/highstreet offerings are sickly sweet, very chemically tasting and have a lot of dairy in them.

I did try buying cocoa butter on its own but unless you're looking to open catering accounts and order a boat load it's not possible.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top Bottom